How the Lifebox Works
Your loved ones will be relieved and grateful that you’ve put this information in your Lifebox.
So put this information your basic Lifebox:
- Your funeral wishes;
- Your letter of wishes, (so your family knows who you want to leave your belongings to);
- A copy of your will;
- The details needed to ‘put your affairs in order’.
For the information that you want to be remembered for as long as you want to be remembered!
This is what you can store in your Lifebox™:
- Your lifestory;
- Your obituary;
- Information about your family;
- Information about your friends;
- Your favourite music;
- Your favourite photographs;
- Your favourite hobbies and interests;
- Your secrets!
- Your scrapbooks – so your creative side can be seen.
And also in the Lifebox™
- Access to your Living Will – an advance decision to refuse medical intervention;
- Death Plan – so you’re in control of your ending.
- Decide who you want to open your Lifebox when you die or are in the last stages of a terminal illness. We recommend you choose not more than three trusted people to open your Lifebox. These people will be your second keyholders.Obvious people to choose are your executor, your solicitor and a trusted close family member.
- Ensure they agree to take on the responsibility of being your second keyholder.
- Click on the 'Lifebox Key' button in your Lifebox homepage to create the certificate which has the details your second keyholder(s) needs to open your Lifebox.
- Give the certificate to the second keyholder(s). The second keyholder(s) are not able to edit, add to or delete the contents of your Lifebox when they open it.
How the time delay works
The second keyholder(s) will normally access your Lifebox because they know you have died or you have given them permission while you are alive.
However, you may not want a second keyholder to access the Lifebox while you are alive. So there is a time delay which gives you time to stop a second keyholder opening your Lifebox.
An email is sent to you immediately a second keyholder accesses your Lifebox. There will then be a time delay during which your Lifebox remains locked.
If you do not reply to the automatic email within 12 hours, we will allow the second keyholders to access these sections:
- Open first;
- My details;
- Funeral wishes.
If you do not reply within 48 hours, we will allow access to the rest of your Lifebox to the second keyholders.
However, if you reply asking for us to deny access to your Lifebox within the time delay period, we will prevent your Lifebox from being opened by the second keyholder(s).
You will need to create a new certificate as the previous second key will be invalid.
How long will my Lifebox be accessible?
My Last Song has backed up all the data in subscribers' Lifeboxes securely to encrypted third-party servers, for which we have already paid.
In the unlikely event that we do not survive as long as you, all your data is safe and will be released to you.
So, if you have paid to have a Lifebox for a year, you and your second keyholder(s) will be able to access the content of your Lifebox for a year, even if we were to close.
If you have paid for ten years, you and your second keyholder(s) will be able to access the content of your Lifebox for ten years.
If you have paid for a one-off period, then your Lifebox will be available to be accessed permanently by future generations of your family.